Toyota RAV4 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 43 Posts

·
Registered
70 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, I am a newbie here and don't know much about vehicle repairs. My wives Rav4 oil light comes on for a second while driving and then turns back off. It happened to her once the other day and once for me yesterday. The light is hard to catch because it comes on and off in a blink of an eye.
I do not see any oil leaks.

·
Your Humble Administrator
2008 RAV4 Limited V6
16,716 Posts
The oil light is coming on because your oil level is low. Check that dipstick and check it often! Your 2.4L engine is a known oil burner and Toyota has issued a special service campaign to fix it. You must take it to a Toyota dealer so they can do an oil consumption test to determine if you can get the free fix. There are several threads in this forum about the problem.

·
Registered
70 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
The oil light is coming on because your oil level is low. Check that dipstick and check it often! Your 2.4L engine is a known oil burner and Toyota has issued a special service campaign to fix it. You must take it to a Toyota dealer so they can do an oil consumption test to determine if you can get the free fix. There are several threads in this forum about the problem.
I took it to the dealer for the oil consumption test a few months ago and it passed.

Sent from my SM-G900P using Tapatalk

·
Your Humble Administrator
2008 RAV4 Limited V6
16,716 Posts
I took it to the dealer for the oil consumption test a few months ago and it passed.

Find out when the service campaign will end for your 2006 and take it in for another test just before then. You might even try a different dealer this time. Maybe it will have gotten worse by then.

·
Registered
70 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Find out when the service campaign will end for your 2006 and take it in for another test just before then. You might even try a different dealer this time. Maybe it will have gotten worse by then.