Toyota RAV4 Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
51 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok guys, my Take on LED vs HID, there is NO comparison in terms of usable light on the road when it counts!! So I went with the trusty Xenon depot Extreme HID kit that I have been using for many years in my other vehicles, so I know the performance and quality these guys put out...

First here are a few pictures of the Kit, very easy to hook up and comes with nice detailed instructions to follow. It comes with 2-ballast 2-wiring harnesses 2-HID bulbs of your choice-I went with 5K for its nice pure bright white light, and each side has its own relay and Waterproof fuse:D

I took a step drill bit and made a nice 7/8 hole in the cover so I could put all the connection thru and then seal it up with the rubber grommet, the wires fit nicely inside the cap so you can install the cap and it looks factory.

Next was to figure out were to mount the HID ballast and relay, I found that the 3M tape does not like the black plastic where I first mounted them so I put them at the next closest spot and that seemed to work out well, you can see both sides are done the same. Then I loosely ran the wires with the included Zip ties ever how you want (tighten up later) and I found up under the plastic lip in the front was a great place for using the zip ties to an existing wire harness.

Then for Power I used the Battery of course for the Positive and Negative hook ups, thats the best source of a ground and guarantees nice clean power to the relay to get things going, I have used other grounds before but HID lights need a GOOD ground, so if you decide to make your ground someplace else and your lights do not power up, then I would immediately go to the Negative on your battery and your issues will be over----I love the fact they went ahead and made the fuses and the relay waterproof so no issues of corrosion:cool: